21 Jan 2010

International accreditation with the European Council on Chiropractic Education (ECCE).


21 Jan 2008

National accreditation of the course presented at both institutions (Durban University of Technology and the University of Johannesburg) is achieved.


1 Jan 1993

Wits Technikon (now the University of Johannesburg) chiropractic faculty is established.

1985 – 1989

21 Jan 1985

On the 7th of June 1985, CASA learns that the Bill has been approved with very little opposition.


Draft curriculae are developed separately for chiropractic and homoeopathy. These are submitted to all universities and Technikons asking if they are interested in offering such programmes.


The unanimous decision is to approach the then Technikon Natal (now the Durban University of Technology). Many meetings are held with the Department of Education, with the first intake of students occurring in January of 1989.


The first exit level of the educational programme is at the Master’s degree level, it being the first in the world to do this, setting a standard that other university programmes internationally have since followed.


21 Jan 1984

The Board spends time working with the Department of Health, largely developing the Regulations required in terms of the Act.


CASA is unofficially informed that its legislation is set to be amended the following year to re-open the registers so that new chiropractors can start to practice, and that provision will be made to establish educational facilities.


A delegation from the Board is sent to visit chiropractic, homeopathic, naturopathic and herbal educational and accrediting institutions in the USA, Canada, the UK and Europe to establish communications with such institutions and acquaint the Board with current educational standards and research activities internationally.


21 Jan 1982

After much time working with the Department of Health, and with the positive driving force of Minister, Dr LAPA Munnik, the Associated Health Service Professions Act (Act 63 of 1982) becomes law, with the exception of two provisions (re-opening of the registers and educational facilities).


The Associated Health Service Professions Board meets for the first time in Pretoria.


A new Minister of Health, Mr Cornelius “Nak” van der Merwe, is appointed.


CASA’s president requests an interview with the new Minister.


21 Jan 1981

Various meetings are held with the SA Medical and Dental Council (SAMDC) in order to explore the possibility of chiropractic falling under the wing of that council. This request is subsequently turned down by the Council.


After a meeting between CASA and the Homoeopathic Association of South Africa (which includes representation of osteopaths, naturopaths and herbalists) with Minister, Dr LAPA Munnik (at his request), the Minister arranges for both the chiropractors and homeopaths to each separately present evidence in support of their respective professions to the SAMDC and the South African Medical Association.


This is held in Cape Town on 10th of August 1981


The South African Medical and Dental Council (SAMDC), being the advisory body to the Department of Health, is asked by the Minister, Dr LAPA Munnik, to take the two professions “under their wing”.


In November of 1981, and much to CASA’s dismay, CASA learns that the SAMDC has voted by 17 votes to 16 against the Minister’s request.


21 Jan 1980

CASA is granted an interview with Dr LAPA Munnik, Minister of Health, leaving CASA with a positive feeling about the future of chiropractic in South Africa.


21 Jan 1977

In February 1977, after further representations to the then Minister of Health, Dr Schalk van der Merwe, CASA is set the following tasks:


  1. A Memorandum on the state of the profession, worldwide;
  2. A Rebuttal to the findings of the Commission of Inquiry; and
  3. Answers to questions raised in parliament during the reading of the Chiropractor’s Bill.


It takes CASA two years to complete all the tasks.


21 Jan 1971

CASA is formed out of the amalgamation of the two previously existing chiropractic associations.


The outcome is Act 76 of 1971, better known as the Chiropractors Act. The Act granted recognition to qualified chiropractors already practising in South Africa, as well as to South Africans studying to become chiropractors, but it also effectively freezes the profession by not allowing any further chiropractors to register and practice in South Africa.

1 2